You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Matt Carthy, Sinn Féin TD.

Senior Sinn Féin TD says party won't be rerunning family and care referendums if in power

Matt Carthy said that at “no stage” during the next Government would Sinn Fein rerun the referendums, signalling a u-turn for the party.

SENIOR SINN FÉIN TD Matt Carthy has said that his party would not “at any stage” in the next Government consider rerunning the family and care referendums if they form the next Government. 

His comments seemingly signal a u-turn for Sinn Féin on the matter, as back in February leader Mary Lou McDonald said that in the event that both referendums on changing the constitution failed – which turned out to be the case – Sinn Féin would rerun them with different wording. 

Speaking on Newstalk’s The Hard Shoulder this evening, Sinn Féin spokesperson on Foreign Affairs and Defence Matt Carthy said that rerunning the referendums will not be on Sinn Féin’s priorities list “at all”. 

Carthy said that Sinn Féin would focus on issues such as “housing, and the need to reform our health services” if it was in power in the next Government. 

Distancing the party from its ‘Yes, yes’ stance during the referendum campaigns, Carthy said that Sinn Féin came to an “on balance” position, but always maintained that it would have run the referendum with different proposed wording. 

He said that Senator Tom Clonan and people with disabilities put forward “very strong arguments” for a No vote in the care referendum, and that the Government failed to “rebuke” those arguments. 

“It wasn’t our campaign,” Carthy said. 

Carthy said that although his party advocated for a ‘Yes, yes’ vote in the referendums, it has always said that it would have opted for the wording recommended by the Citizens’ Assembly on Gender Equality. 

The Citizens’ Assembly in 2021 notably recommended that the Government should propose to delete the ‘Woman in the home’ article of the constitution and replace it with non-gender specific language, that obliges the State to take measures to support care within the home and wider community. 

The Government’s proposed wording would have seen the State only having to “strive” to support the provision of care within the home, which critics said did not go far enough to support carers. 

mary Mary Lou McDonald setting out Sinn Féin's position back in February.

Back in February, when setting out Sinn Féin’s position, Mary Lou McDonald said: “Should this fail, well then yes, the question we would put would be the wording as per the Citizens’ Assembly,” she said. 

McDonald at the time said Sinn Fein would rerun the referendums, with different wording, “early” in their term of Government.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

76 Comments
    Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Sep 29th 2016, 8:36 PM

She is right though. I mean we all know that, don’t we? I’m not gonna stop eating meat, but I do know she is right. Surely we all know that, no? And her place of birth is irrelevant. Should only city folk care about these issues? Not everyone is obsessed with their own parish.

Mute Dick Woody
    Favourite Dick Woody
    Sep 29th 2016, 8:44 PM

@David Clements: She is a hypocrite is what she is. You think they don’t eat meat at their many UN banquets and junkets? Only the most expensive cuts would do. When the likes of Saint Robinson of the many pensions says don’t eat meat she is only referring to the little people, not ”pillars of society” such as herself.

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Sep 29th 2016, 10:30 PM

Well her pension won’t last her long if shes scoffing all this meat now will it. The ticker will be going bang bang.

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito
    Sep 29th 2016, 10:35 PM

I’d agree David. She is right. Producing meat is very carbon intensive. If people stop eating meat (especially beef) it would undoubtedly benefit our environment. Farmers (like me) would just have to adjust.

Mute C Mc Gyver
    Favourite C Mc Gyver
    Sep 29th 2016, 11:13 PM

Your obviously a tillage farmer.

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito
    Sep 29th 2016, 11:40 PM

Not this year for the first time ever. Milk and beef only.

Mute Brendan Keegan
    Favourite Brendan Keegan
    Sep 30th 2016, 8:25 AM

@David Clements: Yes export livestock to be slaughtered in foreign countries really shows us up. I don’t like Mary Robinson but she is totally right. If anybody who eats meat ever goes to a slaughterhouse would they sit down to a steak afterwards.

Mute Dubabroad
    Favourite Dubabroad
    Sep 29th 2016, 8:35 PM

I love my lean steaks and the odd birra venison but at the same time I see nothing wrong with having the odd meal without meat, afterall it’s not going to do me any harm.

Mute Jarrett moon
    Favourite Jarrett moon
    Sep 30th 2016, 5:28 PM

Did you know Mary was a savage for the bacon and cabbage herself.

Mute Anthony Conroy
    Favourite Anthony Conroy
    Sep 29th 2016, 9:34 PM

How dare this woman try to help save the world when there are some farmers in Mayo who could be affected by her sensible approach!

Mute Owen Hennelly
    Favourite Owen Hennelly
    Sep 29th 2016, 11:32 PM

Coming from a Mayo farming background I have to say fair play to Mary Robinson! FitzMaurice really annoys me, the usual anti intellectual bullshit that rivals the Healy Raes. They’d drag this country back to the Stone Age. Forestry is the future of farming in the west of Ireland, not over grazing with beef cattle.

Mute Dick Woody
    Favourite Dick Woody
    Sep 30th 2016, 1:21 AM

@Owen Hennelly: Yeah, kill off all your lakes and rivers with monoculture spruce plantations that acidify the soil and water. Great idea Owen, you really know your stuff.

Mute Owen Hennelly
    Favourite Owen Hennelly
    Sep 30th 2016, 7:55 AM

Who said anything about a monoculture? We can grow more than just one variety. Spruce is the main crop but we should also plant native species such as oak, ash, hazel, birch, pine, rowan and willow to diversify the crop.

Mute Joe Murphy
    Favourite Joe Murphy
    Sep 29th 2016, 8:39 PM

What do the vegetables have to say about this..

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Sep 29th 2016, 10:35 PM

No doubt if there is a vegeconvention there will be a big turnip!!!

Mute Lamb
    Favourite Lamb
    Sep 30th 2016, 9:44 AM

Would we not have to import more fruit and veg if we reduced our consumption of meat, red meat in particular, since a lot of our poultry comes from Asia?

Mute MackPilon
    Favourite MackPilon
    Sep 30th 2016, 9:51 AM

@Micheal S. O’ Ceilleachair: AS any self respecting vegetable will tell you, humans evolved as carnivores, the clue is in your mouth, look at those canine teeth. We got an evolutionary advantage by eating meat and the origins of early farming can be dated by the onset of tooth decay due to eating grains and bits of stone from the primitive millingas shown by archaeological research. We had a diet of lean game, berries,nuts and fish which is as good a diet as any and one that is easily copied and is very enjoyable. Now I’m off to knit some yoghurt flip-flops and tofu knickers

Mute Pixiedust
    Favourite Pixiedust
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:02 AM

@MackPilon: Lots of animals have canine teeth including gorillas, horses and hippos – all herbivores. True meat eaters have sharp, prominent canines like dogs and cats. I’d like to see you try to attack and kill something with those mighty canines you have. Lol. Also the evolutionary advantage we got, was NOT eating meat. Lots of animals eat meat but you don’t see them shooting rockets into space. It was cooking our food, which enabled us to get more calories from a smaller amount of food and so our brain was able to become more advanced.

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:36 AM

@Joe Murphy: I don’t think anyone asked the Cabinet for their opinion.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Sep 29th 2016, 8:58 PM

“especially coming from a county so reliant on agriculture” two points 1. What does he think vegetables are? 2. Perhaps it’s the fact that she doesn’t have to get re-elected 5+that means she can actually say what she believes. He on the other hand, cannot.

Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    Sep 29th 2016, 8:40 PM

I stopped eating meat and dairy years ago, its the best thing I’ve ever done for my health.. But trying to tell people they shouldn’t be eating Animal products is like telling people 50 years ago that they shouldn’t be smoking..

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Sep 29th 2016, 9:22 PM

Cosmo. I like Meat and Cheese. I like the taste of a nice piece of roast beef or a steak, I like the taste of bacon, sausages and black pudding, I like the taste of chicken, turkey, duck and pheasant, I like the taste of venison. Humans are omnivorous. The majority of us enjoy the taste of different meats, cheeses, cream and yogurts.

Mute Niall Donnelly
    Favourite Niall Donnelly
    Sep 29th 2016, 8:53 PM

What about stopping globalisation of fast food restaurants? Nah we’ll just charge them less corporation tax instead. It’ll be all good.

Mute Mise Éire
    Favourite Mise Éire
    Sep 29th 2016, 10:12 PM

She spends most of her days flying in planes spewing out carbon emissions on her way to various hand wringing conferences to tell other people their carbon footprint is too high. Pot, kettle, black.

Mute L
    Favourite L
    Sep 29th 2016, 10:03 PM

The carbon footprint of cattle agriculture is unsustainable.. simple as that really

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:43 AM

@L: They say ti s methane is the problem, why do you say it carbon? Why are you exhaling co2, surely you are as big an emitter? Let here you answer

Mute L
    Favourite L
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:46 AM

@Val Martin: When you get a chance watch the documentary Cowspiracy and come back to me

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Oct 1st 2016, 12:29 PM

@Val Martin:

Methane is a hydrocarbon.

Mute Seymour business
    Favourite Seymour business
    Sep 29th 2016, 8:31 PM

Seriously. What’s next? “let them eat cake”…

Mute Dick Woody
    Favourite Dick Woody
    Sep 29th 2016, 8:51 PM

@Seymour business: I have said it before, they’ll not be happy until they control every aspect of the little peoples lives. All of this climate change rubbish is just an excuse to extract money from people in countless different way and control them, that’s the bottom line. We would do well to remember that we are carbon based life forms that exhale CO2.

Mute Shane Molloy
    Favourite Shane Molloy
    Sep 29th 2016, 9:00 PM

Let them eat cheese

Mute Jon Mackey
    Favourite Jon Mackey
    Sep 30th 2016, 12:04 AM

Fitzmaurice looks like he could do with a vegan diet mind you. He’s the right picture of health that lad

Mute GO GREEN
    Favourite GO GREEN
    Sep 29th 2016, 9:45 PM

Eating less meat would be good for peoples health and the planet. It is now increasingly likely we will have an ice-free Arctic in the summer months, as early as 2020, which will create a chain reaction that even the deniers will be shouting to tackle climate change. Tens of thousands of years of Arctic sea ice will soon be history.
    http://e360.yale.edu/feature/as_arctic_ocean_ice_disappears_global_climate_impacts_intensify_wadhams/3037/

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Sep 29th 2016, 9:24 PM

She spends her time jetting first class all over the world, how much does that contribute to global warming?

Mute Coles
    Favourite Coles
    Sep 30th 2016, 12:07 AM

@Eamon Mac Gowan:

Whatever about her carbon footprint, she has certainly contributed a lot more to Ireland than you ever will. She is respected right around the world in a way that shames the tiny minded FF/FG gombeens.

Mute Niall Power
    Favourite Niall Power
    Sep 29th 2016, 9:02 PM

Vegetarianism is a big miss steak

Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Sep 29th 2016, 9:22 PM

Oh yes Mary Robinson the women that considered the job of Irish President as beneath her.

Mute Irish Cottage Rental
    Favourite Irish Cottage Rental
    Sep 30th 2016, 7:57 AM

She’s telling the truth but we ain’t that bothered about that sort of thing in Ireland. Far easier to make a smart ass comment about the individual than see what we might do to address the issue of climate change.

Mute Mitch Lindsay
    Favourite Mitch Lindsay
    Sep 30th 2016, 7:59 AM

Over half of harmful emissions causing global warming are due to meat/dairy/poultry production. Also huge amounts of freshwater are used, and deforestation to provide land. She’s spot on with her comments. We don’t hear about it as the agricultural sector is protected. Transport contributes 25% of emissions yet we are constantly reminded of its negative impact yet we hear nothing about meat consumptions impact.

Mute George Brown
    Favourite George Brown
    Sep 29th 2016, 8:47 PM

Has anyone looked into the data on CO2 levels and the temperature of the planet over the last millions of years?

Mute Shane Kinsella
    Favourite Shane Kinsella
    Sep 29th 2016, 8:56 PM

Or when they say it’s the hottest September in 50 years. Ah so 50 years ago it was this hot too… Hmmmm

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Favourite Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Sep 29th 2016, 9:50 PM

Shane this year is the hottest on record.

Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Sep 29th 2016, 10:01 PM

@Jimmyjoe. If this year is the hottest on record we here in Ireland have very little to be worried about.

Mute СIΔЯΔИ
    Favourite СIΔЯΔИ
    Sep 30th 2016, 1:38 AM

She’s dead right. Michael Fitzmaurice could do with a leaf out of her book. The size of him. Bet he’s not a vegetarian lol.

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Sep 30th 2016, 5:08 AM

Another smug millionaire lecturing the peasants. …like bono. ..save the world but let me live in style on my money….cancel the debt unless it’s my trousers someone stole..let them eat cake

Mute Joe Harbison
    Favourite Joe Harbison
    Sep 29th 2016, 8:55 PM

How about we stop digging up and bring peat bogs instead Mr Fitzmaurice?

Mute Brendan Keegan
    Favourite Brendan Keegan
    Sep 30th 2016, 6:07 AM

Never ate a piece in my life from birth and never had a sick day. Eating flesh destroys the human body and is the main cause of cancer. They never admit it.

Mute Brendan Keegan
    Favourite Brendan Keegan
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:58 AM

It like the fags. It destroys you but you hide from the real truth.

Mute Derek Walsh
    Favourite Derek Walsh
    Sep 30th 2016, 12:20 PM

His point seems to be that it’s unhelpful to those who make money from meat. I don’t think anyone disputes that. Anti-smoking campaigns are unhelpful to those who produce tobacco. Encouraging people to walk or cycle is unhelpful to those in the motor industry.

Mute The spokesman
    Favourite The spokesman
    Sep 29th 2016, 9:28 PM

Comments like this from robbo arw grounds for expulsion from the island imo

Mute Brianog2
    Favourite Brianog2
    Sep 30th 2016, 12:23 AM

Methinks she has lost the plop

Mute Diarmaid O'Loughlin
    Favourite Diarmaid O'Loughlin
    Sep 29th 2016, 10:23 PM

http://xkcd.com/1732/ funny but true…

Mute Dick Woody
    Favourite Dick Woody
    Sep 30th 2016, 1:24 AM

@Diarmaid O’Loughlin: Another bogus graph. Did it frighten you Diarmaid?

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    Sep 30th 2016, 9:46 AM

€135,000 a year pension for the rest of her life for her 6 years served as President – nice work if you can get it I suppose.

Mute IRONYMAN
    Favourite IRONYMAN
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:11 AM

His picture certainly matches the words spoken anyway. If he doesn’t understand the concept of global warming and what is causing it then he opinion of Mary Robinson’s comments should surely be void.

Mute Jarlath Reidy
    Favourite Jarlath Reidy
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:12 AM

Google “vegan body builder” – it’s very impressive, considering how much we hear you “need a bit of ‘mait’ in ya” to build muscle.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:16 AM

The Alt Green/left wants democracy to fool citizens into thinking they are free. But they engineer a situation where all parties have the same policies with minor differences. They put forward a BIG IDEA, in the belief most voters will fall for it. Hillary was not on the debate 2 minutes until she came out with Solar energy and with the other BIG IDEA, she had an expert group behind her. Trump should have tackled her on who this expert group were and invite them to take part.

Irish people are beginning to cop on. A lot of independents elected last year. Michael Fitzmaurice TD, is aware of the alt green left menace. The demise of religion left a vacuum which is being filed with this replacement.

Mute Alfredo Garcia Jr.
    Favourite Alfredo Garcia Jr.
    Sep 30th 2016, 3:45 AM

The true legend and prophet of our time, Mr. Neil Fallon, Esq, said it best. Enjoy it with a nice chunky riff, chugg’n away in the background. “I got no problems with vegans. Let’s be clear on that. But have you ever met someone who has concocted his or her own convenient first-world philosophy? Cherry picked all those bits of radicalism that appealed to them and threw out the ugly bits? Someone who thinks they’re enlightened but are really just a victim of the own peer driven self-congratulatory bullshit? I have. There’s lots of those types in Washington D.C.” How’s that hardcore fanzine? Still take the piss? Y and T got records, demos on cassette. Summer of the seven inch. Too cool for school. Manifestoes at Kinko’s, pinko commies play no fools. I feel the spirit moving over me. There are clouds beneath my feet. When vegans attack on ten speed bikes. Tattoos with meaning, American Spirit Lights. It’s hard to smoke ‘em when you got to be runnin’ Congressional and D.C.P.D. Lafayette Park undercovers, The saddest sight you ever see, ever see. Tear gas electric! You know I can’t quit this riot. Strictly professional insurrectionist kid, and I can’t deny it. I feel the spirit moving over me. There are clouds beneath my feet. When vegans attack on ten speed bikes. Tattoos with meaning, American Spirit Lights. Freshmen in fatigues. You know he’s fighting for his right. Copious note taker. American Spirit Lights. I feel the spirit moving over me. I feel the spirit moving over me. There are clouds beneath my feet. When vegans attack on ten speed bikes. Tattoos with meaning, American Spirit Lights. Freshmen in fatigues. You know he’s fighting for his right. Copious note taker. American Spirit Lights.

Mute Upowthat Burke
    Favourite Upowthat Burke
    Sep 29th 2016, 11:42 PM

Time is comming to choose Cows or cars result bye bye ranchers

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:26 AM

@Upowthat Burke: If they want to outlaw cars, say so and see how many votes they will get. The are too wised up for that, The BIG IDEA is Electric Cars which simply transfers the emissions from the exhaust to the power station chimney. The environmental damage in mining and processing Rare Earths is horrendous. But its not about energy, its about promoting the Alt Green / Left agenda by the back door on an unsuspecting public.

Ireland has the resources to produce meat, (very good meat), Oman (for example) does not have that resource. Ireland sells meat to Oman and Oman sells oil to Ireland. All get to feed their families. What is wrong with that? I used to sell meat to Russia the EU banned my exports. You can see the common tread here. No young person can afford to buy a house, no young person has a pension plan. The National Pension Reserve fund is no longer in existence. All gone. Eh?

Mute Edel Ball
    Favourite Edel Ball
    Sep 30th 2016, 3:15 PM

Whats bizarre about it…..climate change is the most serious issue we have. When we factor everything in, the co2 from cattle,the deforestation to feed them,the overproduction of land etc. eating meat is responsible for most of the global warming…that is a fact,too many people,and running out of time.

Mute Rebecca Ní Críocháin
    Favourite Rebecca Ní Críocháin
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:42 PM

Do you know what’s really bizarre Mr Fitzmaurice?? Animal agriculture! Destroying the planet, killing innocent animals and ruining human health all for greed. If you think Mary Robinson’s comments are bizarre, you need to take your head out of the same. The numbers of vegans in Ireland are growing, slowly but surely. Farmers won’t be wiped out over night – like any business they will have to adapt to a changing market and produce plant based foods. You don’t morn cigarette producers or oncologists going out of business when people decide to quit smoking, do you? Yours sincerely, a proud Mayo Vegan (from a farming background).

Mute Rebecca Ní Críocháin
    Favourite Rebecca Ní Críocháin
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:43 PM

*sand

Mute Robert G Barrett
    Favourite Robert G Barrett
    Sep 30th 2016, 8:54 AM

No more steak and spuds the death of Olympic dreams !!!

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Sep 30th 2016, 9:43 PM

Not really as the population of the world is so large that the need to change farming has to change from what it is to a more plant based system unless people turn cannibal?

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:54 PM

The amount of food grown wasted to feed animals that could feed people a lot more without the carbon footprint?: